7 ECNU professors receive Yangtze River Scholar awards


ACCORDING to the list of the 2017 Yangtze River Scholars, seven ECNU professors were honored for their achievements in the field of higher education. The Yangtze River Scholars Award was unveiled by the Ministry of Education last year ranking ECNU 16th among Chinese universities.

It was a historical mark for the university to receive the Yangtze River (Changjiang) Scholar awards, considered as the highest academic honor, and issued to an individual in higher education for their exceptional work in academic teaching and research.

Wen Jun with School of Social Development, ECNU, and Fan Guorui with the Education Department of ECNU, were named Yangtze River Scholar Distinguished Professors while five others were awarded a Yangtze River Scholar in the Young Scholar category, including Wang Feng and Jin Wen, professors in Chinese language and literature, Jiang Xuefeng with the Chemistry and Molecular Engineering School, He Daojing with the School of Computer Science and Software Engineering, and Li Tao with the School of Math and Science.

ECNU has seen 24 Yangtze River Scholar Distinguished Professors and 12 Young Scholars of the Yangtze River Scholar Program to date.

ECNU has been implementing its strategy of Talent Makes Schools Strong for many years, in effect to maintain and keep on expanding its high-quality pool of talent and resources. The university had four professors named Yangtze River Scholars in 2015 and six in 2016.


East China Normal University