ECNU achieves new breakthrough in research of new molecular sieve catalytic materials


Recently, the research team headed by Prof. Wu Peng and Associate Professor Xu Hao from the School of Chemistry and Molecular Engineering, East China Normal University (ECNU), successfully developed a molecular sieve material, ECNU-21, with a brand-new structure.

On April 24, 2020, ECNU-21 was officially awarded the 3-letter code EWO by the International Zeolite Association (IZA), which marks the university’s breakthrough in the field of synthesis of new structural molecular sieve catalytic materials.

Zeolite molecular sieves are an important category of heterogeneous catalytic materials.Innovations and breakthroughs in this field have brought about transformative technologies to energy, green chemical industry and biomass resource utilization. Therefore, it is the common goal and the recognized challenge in the academic and industrial communities to realize the construction of the pores and the structure of new structure molecular sieve catalytic materials in a targeted and controllable manner. Adopting innovative synthesis strategies, the research team led by Prof. Wu Peng and Associate Professor Xu Hao have achieved a series of important results in the field of new molecular sieve design research, which have been published in Angewandte Chemie.

Recently, the team has successfully created two molecular sieve materials: ECNU-21 and ECNU-23 (Angew. Chem. Int. Ed., 2020, 59, 1166-1170). With brand-new structures, they are named after East China Normal University.

Guided by the green carbon science concept propsed by academicians He Mingyuan and Han Buxing, Prof. Wu Peng’s research team has long been committed to studying new molecular sieve catalytic materials, green chemistry and chemical technologies, and has made fruitful results. Prof. Wu Peng was on the list of the “Most Cited Chinese Researchers, 2019” released by Elsevier on May 7, 2020. He has been on this list for four years in succession from 2016 when the list was first released.

Source: School of Chemistry and Moleculqr Engineering

Copy editor: Philip Nash

Editor: Yu Wenxi


East China Normal University